Blog about Underwater Life and Scuba Diving

Michigan State Spartans men’s basketball

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Michigan State Spartans men’s basketball team Signifies Michigan State University (MSU) and compete at the Big Ten Conference of NCAA Division I College basketball.

Their home games are played in the Breslin Student Events Center. Tom Izzo has been the head coach since 1995. The Spartans have won 15 Big Ten Conference Championships and two NCAA championships. Both National Championships came in also the 2000 NCAA Tournament and the 1979 NCAA Tournament. The 1979 National Championship Game was the most watched college basketball game ever, with 35.11 million television viewers. [2] The 1979 National Championship team was coached by Jud Heathcote and included championship MVP Magic Johnson, Greg Kelser and Jay Vincent. The Spartans defeated the Indiana State Sycamores. The 2000 National Championship team defeated the Florida Gators men’s basketball team . The team has been coached by Tom Izzo and led by gamers Charlie Bell, Morris Peterson, Jason Richardson and championship MVP Mateen Cleaves.
The Spartans have participated in 33 NCAA tournaments and in 22 consecutive NCAA championships (1998–2019), the fourth-longest series in history and third-longest active streak in college basketball, supporting Kansas (29) and Duke (23). [3] Michigan State has the sixth most all-time Final Four appearances with ten (1957, 1979, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2005, 2009, 2010, 2015, and 2019). The program is also ninth all-time in NCAA championship winning percentage (.677, through 2018).

Read more:

Blog Roll