Blog about Underwater Life and Scuba Diving

List of NBA champions

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The National Basketball Association (NBA) Finals is the championship series for the NBA and the end of its postseason. All Finals Are played in a best-of-seven format, and therefore are contested between the winners of the Eastern Conference and the Western Convention (previously Divisions earlier 1970), except in 1950 when the Eastern Division champion faced the winner between the Western and Central Division champions. By 1946 through 1949, when the league was known as the Basketball Association of America (BAA), the playoffs were a three-stage tournament where the two semifinal winners played in the finals. [1][2][3] the series’ winning group receives the Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy.
The current home-and-away format at the NBA Finals is 2–2–1–1–1 (the group with the superior regular-season record plays in their home court in Games 1, 2, 5, and 7), that has been utilized at 1947–1948, 1950–1952, 1957–1970, 1972–1974, 1976–1977, 1979–1984, and 2014–present. It was formerly at two –3–2 format (the team with the better regular season record plays on their home court in Games 1, 2, 6, and 7) through 1949, 1953–1955, and 1985–2013,[4][5][6][7][8][9] at a 1–1–1–1–1–1–1 structure throughout 1956 and 1971,[10][11] and in a 1–2–2–1–1 format throughout 1975 and 1978. [12][13]
The Eastern Conference/Division leads the Western Conference/Division in string won (39–34). The defunct Central Division, when the existing Eastern Division was upgraded as a convention, in presence during the 1949 — 50 NBA year when the NBA was split into three branches and separate from the recent Central Division made in 1970, won one championship. The Minneapolis/Los Angeles Lakers and the Boston Celtics alone possess almost half of those titles, having won a 33 of 73 championships. The defending champions are the Toronto Raptors, which makes history as the first team from outside of the United States to acquire, as of 2019.

Read more:

Blog Roll